Be Thankful for Caregivers

November is National Alzheimer’s Disease Awareness Month and Family Caregivers Month.  It’s a perfect time to salute and thank the people in our lives who are helping to make our lives better.  I am in the early-stages of Alzheimer’s and feel right now that my needs are minimal.  I am thankful for that.

My husband had a business trip to Anaheim, California last week. He took me along and I was able to enjoy the trip with him. I brought a good novel with me, sat by the hotel pool, swam, and also enjoyed the safety of the lovely hotel room with a view. He made sure that he took me to have a bite for breakfast and checked on me during his breaks.

After the conference was over, we had a ball in Disneyland before coming back home. We picked up our car from our son’s home in Chicago, drove home to the Milwaukee area and drove back to Chicago soon after for our grandson’s second birthday party. It was a fun kiddie party and Halloween costume parade in Chicago’s Roscoe Village.

Activities like these keep me engaged, and smiling even while living with Alzheimer’s disease. I also have a nice group of friends that give me rides to my Bible study.  Other friends pick me up and take me to lunch.  I recently admitted to my Bible study group that I do not remember the passages I have read, but still enjoy their company and discussions.

I watch a Soap Opera “Days of Our Lives” every day at 1 p.m. I have been a fan since I was 16 years old. And I do remember all of the details, including character’s name, and I could tell you what’s happening.

But most of all, I really want to remember to thank my caregivers for their efforts. With Alzheimer’s disease, we need all of the loving care and attention we can get. My advice is to continue what you enjoy as long as you can.  And appreciate your caring friends and family.   They are your loving Caregivers. Give them a smile and a thank you. Tell them you appreciate and love them for their patience and acts of kindness. Yes, November is a time to be Thankful.

Barbara Cheek Johnson, and her husband Dan

Barbara Cheek Johnson, and her husband Dan

2 comments

  1. Thanks Barb for keeping us all focused on one of the most important things in life – the attitude of gratitude. I have often found that just taking a few moments to remember the “good stuff” can counteract a whole lot of the “other stuff!”


Leave a Reply

