Ringing in 2015

It’s a brand New Year.  But some things haven’t changed. O.K. I am still living with Alzheimer’s disease.  And sure – I am still looking to the New Year to give us miracle remedies and some added assurance that living with the disease is do-able with a good Doctor, a strong and caring family, support from friends and the Alzheimer’s Association.

The Alzheimer’s Association has been supportive, educational and a surprisingly great place for my husband Dan and me to form new friendships.  We are thankful to have met so many nice people on this journey. A daughter of one of the members in our Alzheimer’s Support Network opened up her home to us, to ring in the New Year. It was a thoughtful gesture and ringing in the New Year together was a lot of fun! Yes, people with Alzheimer’s disease want to socialize and have fun, just like everyone else.

This bonding with others that my husband and I are experiencing on this journey, is a gift.  We need each other…to cry, hug, laugh and cope together during the venture we are on.  I hope others all over the world who are struggling with this disease, open up their hearts and homes and make the kinds of friendships that our Alzheimer’s Association staff has encouraged and that we have been blessed with.

I hope I will see a cure for this debilitating disease in my life time.  Meantime, I am thankful for the gift of friendships that my husband, my family and I have been given.

Happy New Year!

“A real friend is one who walks in when the rest of the world walks out.”

Walter Winchell

2911_Alzheimers-1005 Barb Johnson small
~ Barbara Cheek Johnson is a journalist living with Early-Stage Alzheimer’s disease. ~

One comment


Leave a Reply

