The Fall

Seemingly, my day was off to its usual, and mostly unremarkable start. I headed out the front door to get the newspaper. The sidewalk and driveway looked clean. I took my first step, wearing boots, and then it happened. All of a sudden I slipped and fell.  As I went sailing down, I instinctively braced with my right hand. I still landed very hard on my tailbone and wrist. I sat stunned, freezing and shaking, and then crying. I knew that I was hurt pretty severely. I found my way back into the house.  Through sobs I explained to my husband Dan what had happened.  In just minutes, this average, ordinary day was turning into a no good, very bad day.

We immediately headed to the Emergency Room at Waukesha Memorial Hospital. There, they confirmed  I had suffered a bruised tailbone and a fracture in the right wrist. This new, temporary disability has now been added to my ongoing challenge of living with Alzheimer`s disease. I have found that my struggle to avoid getting depressed has become a lot more difficult since my injury.  A part of it is the physical pain. The other part, though, is that it has been a real downer to suddenly lose the ability to do any number of routine things that one takes for granted.

I know that this part will begin to get better soon, and that there is a light at the end of the tunnel for my broken wrist.  I wish I could say the same was true about Alzheimer’s disease.  But I will remain positive. My hope and prayer is that soon, with increased research and funding, we can climb to a higher pedestal –  a world without Alzheimer’s disease.

“The harder you fall, the heavier your heart; the heavier your heart, the stronger you climb; the stronger you climb, the higher your pedestal.” 
Criss Jami

2911_Alzheimers-1005 Barb Johnson small

 

~Barbara Cheek Johnson is a journalist living with early-stage Alzheimer’s disease ~

Leave a Reply

