Barb’s Buzz – Be Hopeful and Thankful

Since I broke my right wrist from a slip and fall incident on a slippery, snow covered sidewalk last winter, I am afraid to venture out in the winter. I know that I will remember to be more cautious.  But I think about myself and my ability to navigate safely as Alzheimer’s disease progresses.

I am hopeful that with research our medical community can continue to develop medicines to keep those of us with Alzheimer’s and related dementias alert and help keep our ability to remember. The medical research community welcomes people to participate in studies.  I have been a research participant since I was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s disease. I am currently enrolled in a longitudinal study through the Alzheimers Disease Research Center at University of Wisconsin-Madison. I feel like I am contributing to the research to find a cure for Alzheimer’s disease.

I must admit I am thankful for climate warming this winter. The roads and sidewalks are easier to navigate. They are safer for driving and walking. The meetings and Memories in the Making art classes at the Alzheimer’s Association provide a safe haven to share stories, be creative and develop friendships for those with Alzheimer’s disease and their partners. The art therapy classes at Donna Lexa Art Studio gives those with Alzheimer’s disease and other disabilities a safe haven to socialize and be creative with the gentle guidance and teaching art forms with caring art therapists.

The friendships that my husband and I have made are an added gift to our lives.  All I can say is that the Alzheimer’s Association is a safe haven. We are so grateful for the support and the friendships we have made.  I feel hopeful and thankful and gratified for the support.

2911_Alzheimers-1005 Barb Johnson small

~Barbara Cheek Johnson is a journalist living with early-stage Alzheimer’s~

For more information on how to participate in Alzheimer’s research and clinical trials, visit TrialMatch

Leave a Reply

