Barb’s Buzz – Safety Comes First with Team Work in the Kitchen

I have always loved to cook, and did most of my cooking on an electric stove. Safety in the kitchen has always been important to me, and is even more critical now that I am living with Alzheimer’s disease.  The condo we moved to several years ago has a gas stove and oven, and that open flame has put me out of my comfort zone.

My solution – I let my husband Dan do the cooking.  And I am now the prep-chef and salad girl.  We work together as a team, just like they do in a restaurant.  Chef Dan uses a skillet on the stove top or slides it into the oven.  My job is to tear the lettuce leaves, dice the vegetables, make the salad, and choose a salad dressing.  I like to make my salads interesting. I like to be creative and add fruit, nuts, celery or cheese with the lettuce. I also like to keep an array of salad dressing in the refrigerator to make it interesting.

I’m still involved with meal planning and I like to go with Dan to the grocery store to pick out what we need. The two of us make a grocery list before we shop for the ingredients. Here`s an example of how we work together; Dan had a taste for chili for dinner. So he stopped at the market to pick up the ingredients. I helped with dicing the celery. Dan browned the ground chuck and put it in the crock pot.

And since cooking and eating always involves set-up and clean-up, I’m involved there too.  I set the table, clear the table and load the dishwasher.  It`s what I call teamwork with a smile!

2911_Alzheimers-1005 Barb Johnson small

~Barbara Cheek Johnson is a journalist living with early-stage Alzheimer’s disease~

One comment


Leave a Reply

